Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 22 August 2019

Bodorovà, Sylvie locked

  • Anna Šerých


(b České Budějovice, Dec 31, 1954). Czech composer. She was a piano and composition pupil at the conservatory in Bratislava, before studying at the Janáček Academy of Musical Arts in Brno (1974–9), with Ctirad Kohoutek, and at the Academy of Musical Arts in Prague. Further work with Donatoni at the composition course at Siena (1981) ensued. From 1987 she regularly attended Ton de Leeuw’s courses in Amsterdam. She has taught at the academy in Brno and at the College-Conservatory of Music, Cincinnati (composer-in-residence, 1994–6). She belongs to the group Quattro, founded in 1996, which consists of four composers of different generations but who share the view of art being an ‘ecology of the soul’. Her work, the structural simplicity of which tends towards a lyrical sonority, has been played on all continents; Homage to Columbus for guitar has even been performed in the Antarctic. She receives frequent commissions and has won several prizes (e.g. Mannheim, Czech Radio Prague). (ČSHS)...

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.