Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 25 August 2019

Obrovská, Janalocked

  • Anna Šerých


(b Prague, Sept 13, 1930; d Prague, April 4, 1987). Czech composer. Born into an artistic family, she had a short but significant musical career. She studied the piano with Berta Kabeláčová, music theory with Jaroslav Řídký and composition with Emil Hlobil at the Prague Conservatory (1949–55), where her graduation composition, an acclaimed Piano Concerto, revealed her talent for concertante forms. She worked as an editor for the Supraphon music publishing house in Prague. She was married to the guitar player Milan Zelenka. Her guitar pieces show a delicate stylization: Passacaglia-Toccata won the prize at the international guitar competition in Paris in 1972, and Hommage à Béla Bartók was the compulsory piece for the 1975 competition.

(selective list)

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.