Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 22 August 2019

Petrová, Elenalocked

  • Anna Šerých


(b Modrý Kameň, Nov 9, 1929; d Prague, April 7, 2002). Czech composer. She studied the piano with Karel Hoffmeister, musicology at Charles University, Prague, and composition with Jan Kapr at the Janáček Academy of Musical Art, Brno. She has spent her whole career teaching music theory at Charles University. Her main creative interest is in vocal and dramatic music, for which she writes her own texts and scenarios. Her opera Kdyby se slunce nevrátilo (‘Suppose the Sun did not Return’) demonstrates her concise approach to musical utterance and a tendency towards modality in her harmonic language. Petrová’s works have won several prizes, in her own country and abroad (Philadelphia, 1968; Czech National Competition, 1971 and 1972; Denver, 1975; Mannheim, 1976 and 1978).

(selective list)

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.

Ceskoslovensky hudební slovník