Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 22 August 2019

Luengo, Maria Teresa (Eduarda)locked

  • Raquel C. de Arias



(b Quilmes, Nov 25, 1940). Argentine composer. She graduated in composition and musicology from the Catholic University of Argentina in 1969. Between 1973 and 1980 she experimented with a personal language influenced by ethnic music (as in Cuatro soles, 1973), which she later consolidated (in Navegante, 1983). Using consonant and dissonant ‘regions’, differentiated by particular groupings of small intervals, she builds modules of sounds and silence that have an archaic atmosphere and sonority, but without reference to Argentine or Latin American folk music. Most of her works are for chamber groups, using various combinations of instruments. They have won many prizes. Luengo also teaches contemporary techniques and in 1990 instituted a course in electro-acoustic composition at the National University in Quilmes.

(selective list)

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.