Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 17 August 2019

Havrylets′, Hanna Oleksiïvnalocked

  • Nina Sergeyevna Shurova


(b Vidiniv, Ivanofrank province, April 11, 1958). Ukrainian composer. She graduated from the Lvov Conservatory in 1982, having studied with V.V. Flys, and then took a postgraduate course with M.M. Skoryk in Kiev. In 1992 she returned to teach composition there after a period working as a reviewer. Her work is notable for its spontaneity, openness of feeling and sincere lyricism, and though stylistically traditional and chamber-like in conception, is not retrogressive. She makes use of Ukrainian folk genres in several compositions: the plach (‘lament’) is used as a basis for In memoriam, the duma for her Symphonic Poem and the kolomiyka for the Viola Sonata and the Saxophone Quartet; she herself has claimed that ‘national roots are the only stimulus for our creative fantasy’. Her natural melodic gift is evident in her many vocal works.

(selective list)

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.