Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 17 August 2019

Swain, Freda (Mary)locked

  • Eric Blom
  • , revised by Lewis Foreman



(b Portsmouth, Oct 31, 1902; d Chinnor, Jan 29, 1985). English composer and pianist. One of the last composition pupils of Stanford at the RCM, she also studied the piano with Dora Matthay (1913–17) and with Arthur Alexander, whom she married in 1921. She was appointed professor at the RCM in 1924, the year from which her first mature compositions may be said to date. She first came to prominence with The Harp of Aengus for violin and orchestra (based on a poem by W.B. Yeats), played by Achille Rivarde at Queen’s Hall in January 1925. In 1936 she founded the British Music Movement for the promotion of new music and after World War II she set up the NEMO Concerts, which again promoted her contemporaries’ music as well as her own.

On the outbreak of war, Arthur Alexander was marooned in South Africa. Swain wrote a piano concerto for him; scored on very thin paper it was sent by airmail in a number of instalments. Alexander performed it in Cape Town and elsewhere and it became known as the ‘Airmail’ Concerto. Despite its success, however, and protests by the composer and her supporters, the concerto was never accepted for broadcast by the BBC. In ...

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.

Monthly Musical Record