Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 17 August 2019

Ruiz Armengol, Mariolocked

  • Ricardo Miranda Pérez


(b Veracruz, March 17, 1911; d Cancun, December 22, 2002). Mexican composer. Born into a family of actors and singers of zarzuela, he was strongly influenced by folk music from an early age. As a child he played various wind instruments, later studying the piano at the Conservatorio Nacional de Música. He embarked on a career as a folk musician, conducting his father’s orchestra, and in 1931 he joined the radio station XEW (then the principal Mexican radio station) as a pianist, becoming well-known as an arranger and accompanist of singers, among them Jorge Negrete and Pedro Vargas. He subsequently studied harmony and composition with Rolón (1936) and Halffter (1948).

While his arrangements of folksongs (notably Tengo miedo, Ausencia, Estoy enamorado, ¿Por qué llorar?, Aunque tu no me quieras, ¿Por qué te vas? and Muchachita) have been broadcast widely, Ruiz Armengol also composed works in a classical style, characterized by an impeccable, imaginative use of traditional harmony and the incorporation of melodic phrases from urban Mexican music. His highly idiomatic piano works – usually comprising short pieces grouped under generic titles such as ...

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.