Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 20 September 2019

Quesada (Aguilar), Marco Antonio locked

  • Jorge Luis Acevedo Vargas


(b San José, Jan 5, 1964). Costa Rican composer. From an early age he followed the general music course at the University of Costa Rica. He took a degree in music at the same institution, with special emphasis in composition, taught by Gutierrez Sáenz, Zeller Flores and Herra Rodríguez. In 1984 he took part in the seminar on composition and electro-acoustic music given in San José by Steiger. He also studied conducting with Agustín Cullell and Herra. He has worked as a teacher with the youth programme of the National SO and at the School of Musical Arts of the University of Costa Rica.

He is a founder member and secretary of the Centre for Contemporary Music in San José. In 1988 he obtained the Aquileo J. Echevarría National Music Prize for his Brass Quintet. He was invited to participate in the Second and Sixth Caribbean Composers’ Forums, held in Costa Rica. His works include a number of chamber pieces, band music and symphonic works; he has also composed music for theatrical productions. In April of ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.