Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 14 October 2019

Jiráčková, Martalocked

  • Anna Šerých


(b Kladno, March 22, 1932). Czech composer . She studied composition at the Prague Conservatory (1952–8) with Emil Hlobil and later (1962–4) with Alois Hába, whose teaching, together with her friendship with Sláva Vorlová, proved significant to her development as a composer. She undertook postgraduate study at the Janáček Academy of Musical Arts in Brno with Ctirad Kohoutek and particularly Alois Piňos (1976–8). For more than 30 years she has worked as a music editor for Czechoslovak Radio in Prague, an experience which has encouraged her to write electro-acoustic music. Most of this music is for film and radio but it also includes a ballet, Lod’ bláznů (‘The Ship of Fools’, 1991), which won a Czech Music Fund prize. Jiráčková enjoys writing for the human voice, which she treats as an instrument, but her output covers a wide range of genres and includes educational music. (...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.