Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 17 August 2019

Finsterer, Marylocked

  • Michael Barkl


(b Canberra, Aug 25, 1962). Australian composer. She studied composition at the University of Melbourne (BMus, 1987; MMus, 1994; PhD, 2003) and with Louis Andriessen at the Royal Conservatory in The Hague. Since 1985 she has worked chiefly in Melbourne and Sydney as a freelance composer, and lecturer. Finsterer’s music draws on extra-musical elements in its expression of extremes of dramatic effect. Madam He (1988), based on Samuel Beckett’s play, presents two sharply defined protagonists (‘He’ and ‘She’) through the use of a single soprano supported by chamber ensemble. The soprano is required to sing in a low, halting style as a male character and with tumultuous exuberance as a female. In Ruisselant, composed for Le Nouvel Ensemble Moderne’s ‘Forum 91’ competition, the three formal sections are delineated by incessant streams of timbral, textural, and gestural contrasts. Ruisselant was a prize-winner at the 1992 Paris Rostrum and was performed at the ...

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.