Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 20 August 2019

Kats-Chernin, Elenalocked

  • Ruth Lee Martin


(b Tashkent, Nov 4, 1957). Australian composer of Uzbek origin. She emigrated to Australia with her family in 1975. In 1980, after graduating from the Sydney Conservatorium (1979), she studied with Lachenmann at the Hochschule für Musik in Hanover. Remaining in Germany, she produced music for ballets and numerous soundtracks for theatre productions in Bremen, Bochum and Vienna. She remained fully occupied with theatre music (1985–9) until Transfer was commissioned by the Sydney SO. She returned to Sydney in 1994. In 1996 she won the Sounds Australian Award for Best Composition with Cadences, Deviations and Scarlatti (1995) and the Jean Bogan Prize with Charleston Noir (1996). In her music Kats-Chernin often combines simple formulaic material with idiosyncratic textures. This is demonstrated in three key works, Tast-en (1991) for piano, Retonica (1993) for orchestra and Clocks (...

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.