Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 20 September 2019

Moreno (Sánchez), Joan-Antonlocked

  • Francesc Taverna-Bech


(b Granada, 1953). Spanish composer. He trained at the Barcelona Conservatory, and went on to study composition with Brncic and Vaggione, and the application of computer techniques to electro-acoustic music with Lluís Callejo. He took part in the 12th and 13th Manuel de Falla competitions in Granada, and attended composition seminars at the Miró Foundation in Barcelona, the New Music one-day seminars in Sitges, the 1st GME Composition seminar in Cuenca and the International Contemporary Music Competition in Darmstadt. He collaborated with the Phonos electro-acoustic music studio in Barcelona. His compositions have figured in the programmes of international concert cycles and festivals specializing in contemporary music, and have been broadcast on the main national radio channels.

Moreno's music has its origins in the encounter of two very disparate worlds: the fundamental western musical tradition and the theories of electro-acoustic composition. In some ways his attitude towards composition may be defined by his complete lack of preconceived ideas and by his search for new ways of organizing sound. (...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.