Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 17 August 2019

Rubin, Anna (Ita)locked

  • Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner



(b Akron, OH, Sept 5, 1946). American composer. She studied sociology at Pomona College in Claremont, California (BA 1968), and music at the California Institute of the Arts (BFA 1975, MFA 1981); she completed an MA in composition at Princeton University in 1996. Her teachers included Pauline Oliveros, Mel Powell, Leonard Stein and Morton Subotnick; she also studied with Ton de Leeuw in the Netherlands. She has received fellowships and held residencies in the USA and elsewhere (Brahmshaus, Baden-Baden), and has received commissions from the New York State Council on the Arts and for radio. Her work for soprano and ten instruments, Die Nacht: Lament for Malcolm X, won an award from the Gaudeamus Foundation in 1983. Rubin’s compositions are lyrical, dramatic and heterophonic in style, and her electro-acoustic pieces are often inspired by vocal models. Both her instrumental and her electronic works have been performed throughout North and South America, Mexico and Europe. An accomplished pianist, she has taught and studied in New York....

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.