Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 20 August 2019

Stefanović, Ivanalocked

  • Melita Milin
  • , revised by Mirjana Veselinović-Hofman


(b Belgrade, Serbia, Sept 14, 1948). Serbian composer. She studied composition with Enriko Josif at the Belgrade Academy of Music (now Faculty of Music of the University of Arts in Belgrade) and later with Gilbert Amy in Paris, where she undertook research at IRCAM (1979–81). In 1968 she began an association with Radio Belgrade, where she became an editor (1975), then founded the Sound Workshop Programme (1985) becoming its first editor, and worked as head of music production on the Radio Belgrade First Programme from 1989 until 1991, when she resigned. Between 1992 and 1995 she gave lectures within the applied music course at the Faculty of Music.

Her works show a variety of compositional techniques, ranging from a dense polyphonic texture in her earlier compositions (Kabana, 1974) to the application of mathematical proportions in Fragment mogućeg reda (‘A Fragment of a Probable Order’, ...

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.