Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 17 August 2019

Fujiie, Keikolocked

  • Yoko Narazaki


(b Kyoto, July 22, 1963). Japanese composer. She studied composition and theory to postgraduate level at Tokyo National University of Fine Arts and Music. Among her many awards are the first prize in the 1986 Japan Music Competition for her Clarinet Concerto, the Young Composers’ Award of the Asian Composers’ League in 1990 for the first movement of her String Trio, and the Otaka Prize, of which she was the first female recipient, for Beber in 1995. Citing the compositional methodology of Yoshio Hachimura as an influence, Fujiie avoids imposing an external structure on a piece, and instead manipulates the energy of each musical event, thereby allowing its structure to form organically. Her works, neo-romantic in style and complex in texture, remain free of the influence of western tendencies. In Pas de deux I (1987) the vitality of ballet informs such textural complexity; in Bodrum Sea...

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.