Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 18 August 2019

Lee Chan-Haelocked

  • Keith Howard


(b Seoul, Oct 8, 1945). Korean composer. She studied composition at Yonsei University (BM) and the Catholic University of America in Washington, DC (MM); she was later appointed professor of composition at Yonsei University. Her works are typically contrapuntal and favour progressive structural developments over strict forms. In music that is simple and direct, Lee chooses subject matters that reflect her Christianity and her interest in music education. Glorification (1991), for three percussionists, is her fifth piece based on John Bunyan’s The Pilgrim’s Progress. It presents the pitch sequence D–E–B♭–G, gradually opening with central snare drums and moving outwards to low timpani and high tom-toms; halfway through, gongs, cymbals and bells take over as metal triumphs over wood and skin. Though the subject is Christian, the reference is to the East Asian philosophical system of music classification according to instrument materials.

Lee’s teaching at Yonsei has restricted the time she can devote to composition, but her music has been performed in Europe, the USA and Australasia. She has been a visiting scholar at Wayne State University and Oakland University and in ...

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.