Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 20 February 2020

Stravinsky, Igor (Fyodorovich)locked

  • Stephen Walsh



(b Oranienbaum [now Lomonosov], nr St Petersburg, 5/June 17, 1882; d New York, April 6, 1971). Russian composer, later of French (1934) and American (1945) nationality. One of the most widely performed and influential composers of the 20th century, he remains also one of its most multi-faceted. A study of his work automatically touches on almost every important tendency in the century's music, from the neo-nationalism of the early ballets, through the more abrasive, experimental nationalism of the World War I years, the neo-classicism of the period 1920–51 and the studies of old music which underlay the proto-serial works of the 1950s, to the highly personal interpretation of serial method in his final decade. To some extent the mobile geography of his life is reflected in his work, with its complex patterns of influence and allusion. In another sense, however, he never lost contact with his Russian origins and, even after he ceased to compose with recognizably Russian materials or in a perceptibly Slavonic idiom, his music maintained an unbroken continuity of technique and thought....

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.

Basle, Paul Sacher Stiftung, Bibliothek
Die Musikforschung
Perspectives of New Music
Schweizerische Musikzeitung/Revue musicale suisse
Musical Quarterly
Current Musicology
Music Review
Beiträge zur Musikwissenschaft
Rassegna musicale
Music & Letters
Muzïkal 'naya akademiya
Music Analysis
19th Century Music
Journal of Music Theory
Paris, Bibliothèque Nationale de France
Bulletin français de la S.I.M. [also Mercure musical and other titles]
Washington, General Collections, Library of Congress
Revue musicale
Modern Music
Sovetskaya muzïka
Revue belge de musicologie
Journal of Musicological Research
Cambridge Opera Journal
see SMH
Journal of the American Musicological Society
Revue de musicologie
Neue Zeitschrift für Musik
London, British Library
Archiv für Musikwissenschaft
Journal of Musicology
Musical Times
Opera Quarterly