Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 20 August 2019

Ahrens, Sieglindelocked

  • John Morgan
  •  and Roswitha Sperber


(b Berlin, Feb 19, 1936). German composer and organist. She had her first music lessons from her father, Joseph Ahrens, with whom she continued organ studies at the Berlin Hochschule für Musik, where her composition teacher was Boris Blacher. Subsequently she studied with Messiaen and Milhaud at the Paris Conservatoire. She made her début as an organist in 1947 and from then until 1957 played at the Salvatorkirche, Berlin. In 1962 she was appointed to teach at the Folkwang-Hochschule, Essen, becoming professor of organ in 1970. She has made concert tours in Germany, France and the Netherlands and won numerous awards, including the Förderungspreis (the arts prize of North Rhine-Westphalia; 1964). Ahrens, in her relatively small output, shows herself to be more concerned with personal expression than with technical innovation or with an ‘avant garde’ expansion of musical material. A certain affinity with the work of Petr Eben...

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.