Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 17 August 2019

Bakke, Ruthlocked

  • Kari Michelsen


(b Bergen, Aug 2, 1947). Norwegian composer and organist. She was educated first at the Bergen Musikkonservatorium and at Oslo University; she studied thereafter at Texas Lutheran College, the University of Redlands, California, and Washington State University, from which she received the Master’s degree in 1972. In 1973 she was appointed organist at the Storetveit Church in Bergen. In her music she uses a free tonality, frequently including tone clusters and sometimes employing improvisation techniques; timbre and rhythm are central elements. Bakke’s output ranges from Chromocumuli (‘Colour Clouds’, 1972) for symphony orchestra and Rumus (1977) for chamber orchestra to her Trollsuite (1981) for string quartet, Noncense (1990) for solo voice and Suite ACD (1992) for Renaissance instruments. There are many compositions for organ: the solo works include a sonata (1970) and Sphaerae (1992); for organ with other instruments she has composed ...

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.