Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 20 August 2019

Capuis, Matildelocked

  • Paola Damiani


(b Naples, Jan 1, 1913). Italian composer and pianist. She studied the piano and composition in Venice and in Florence (where she graduated from the Conservatory), completing her composition studies by taking part in the Accademia Chigiana master classes in Siena. She had a long performing career in Italy and abroad in a duo with the cellist Ugo Scabia. She also taught solfeggio at the Turin Conservatory. For her own compositions she has been awarded the Premio Quartetto Veneziano (1948), and first prize in the Concorso Internazionale in Genoa (1952) and in the Rubinstein International Competition for Women Composers in Buenos Aires (1962). She is a member of Frauenmusik, Zürich. Her works include a Symphony in G minor, Leggenda per la Notte di Natale for strings, a Violin Sonata in G minor, a Cello Sonata in C minor and Fiaba Armoniosa for piano....

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.