Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 17 August 2019

Hay, Diana Pereiralocked

  • Inge Bruland


(b Sri Lanka, Feb 20, 1932). Danish composer. Her father was Australian, her mother of Irish descent, but she was educated at the Kongelige Danske Musikkonservatorium in Copenhagen. She studied the piano as her main subject, but also composition and orchestration with Vagn Holmboe. Her musical output is small yet original: it consists mainly of piano music, such as Exercises in Metamorphosis I and II (1966), Sonata in Three Phases (1978), Sonata no. 2 (1979) and I’m Still Alive (1983). There is a further set of Exercises in Metamorphosis for string quartet (1967). Hay was a leading figure in the founding of the association Kvinder i Musik (Women in Music) in 1980, and by the 1990s had turned to the composition of computer music for educational purposes.

I. Bruland: ‘Fire danske kvindelige komponister fra det 20. århundrede’, Kvinders former...

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.