Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 22 August 2019

Jabor (Maia de Carvalho), Najla locked

  • Irati Antonio


(b Rio de Janeiro, Sept 25, 1915; d March 9, 2001). Brazilian composer. She graduated from the Escola Nacional de Música of the University of Brazil (now the University of Rio de Janeiro), where her teachers included Henrique Oswald (piano) and Francisco Braga (composition, fugue and orchestration). A member of the Ordem dos Músicos do Brasil, she participated in the movement to promote Brazilian composers. She was the first Brazilian woman to write a piano concerto (1953). Her compositions were mainly for piano, orchestra or chorus; the last include some occasional anthems. In 1952 she won first prize in the Courrier International competition (USA) with the piano piece Jongo; other solo piano pieces include two Nocturnes (1954, 1957) and Estudo alvorada 1–3 (1970–76). Her orchestral works include Prelúdio sinfônico (1957), Y Juca Pirama (1957), Américas (1958), ...

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.