Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 20 August 2019

Leite, Vânia Dantas locked

  • Irati Antonio


(b Rio de Janeiro, Aug 13, 1945). Brazilian composer, pianist and conductor. She studied at the Escola Nacional de Música of the University of Brazil (now the University of Rio de Janeiro), where her teachers included Zilá de M. Brito (piano) and Frederico Egger (composition). Later she studied electronic music in London with Per Hartmann (1974) and in Paris, and completed her composition studies with Esther Scliar. Although she has performed as a concert pianist with several orchestras, she has dedicated most of her career to composing, conducting and teaching; she has held teaching posts at various schools, including the Conservatório Brasileiro de Música. In 1972 she won the first prize of the Ordem dos Músicos do Brasil with the orchestral work Abertura 1822. Other orchestral pieces include the Symphony no.1 (1971), Entre vidas (1974) and, with chorus, Réquiem para um poeta...

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.