Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 20 August 2019

Milstein, Silvina [née Mendzylewski ]locked

  • Rhian Samuel


[née Mendzylewski ]

(b Buenos Aires, Feb 12, 1956). Argentine composer, resident in Britain . Her early musical training took place at the Collegium Musicum in Buenos Aires; subsequent study at the University of La Plata was curtailed by her emigration to Britain after the Argentine military coup in 1976. In 1979 she entered Glasgow University, where her composition teachers were Judith Weir and Lyell Cresswell , and after graduation in 1983 she went to Cambridge University to study composition and to research into the music of Arnold Schoenberg with Alexander Goehr. In that year she wrote the serial composition Sombras, which became co-winner of the Ralph Vaughan Williams Trust/SPNM Orchestral Award in 1985. At Cambridge she held fellowships at Jesus College and King’s College and wrote the book Arnold Schoenberg: Notes, Sets, Forms (Cambridge, 1992). A composing hiatus of four years ended with the String Quartet (1989), which abandons serial writing in favour of a melodically motivated mode of composition. Later works in her modest output have proved more referential: the ...

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.