Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 20 August 2019

Moberg, Ida Georgina locked

  • Fabian Dahlström


(b Helsinki, Feb 13, 1859; d Helsinki, Aug 2, 1947). Finnish composer and conductor . After taking piano and singing lessons, she studied counterpoint with Friedrich Richard Faltin and composition with Jean Sibelius at the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra School. In 1893–4 she was at the St Petersburg Conservatory and from 1901 to 1905 at the Dresden Conservatory, where she was a pupil of Felix Draeseke . She completed her training at the Dalcroze Institute in Berlin (1911–12) and then returned to Helsinki. From 1914 she taught at the Helsinki Music Institute and conducted choirs, which sometimes performed her music. In 1906 Moberg conducted her symphony, an Overture in A minor, Lantlig dans (‘Country Dance’) for orchestra, and Vaknen (‘Awaken’) for male chorus and orchestra, and in 1908 her Tyrannens natt (‘The Night of the Tyrant’), also for male chorus and orchestra. Intermittently, and as late as 1945–6, she worked on an opera about Buddha, ...

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.