Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 20 September 2019

Ozaita, María Luisalocked

  • Alicia Casares-Alonso


(b Baracaldo, April 20, 1939). Spanish composer and harpsichordist. She studied with J. C. Gómez Zubeldia (piano), Fernando Remacha (composition) and Kenneth Gilbert (harpsichord), and was awarded scholarships to attend courses at Santiago de Compostela, Granada, Darmstadt, and the Copenhagen Kongelige Danske Musikkonservatorium, where her teachers were K. J. Isaksen (harpsichord) and Leif Thybo (composition). She has pursued a career as a composer, performer, teacher and researcher and has given many lectures on women composers. In 1988 she was the founding president of Mujeres en la Música and in 1991, together with the cellist Rosario Ramos, founded the association’s Orquestra de Cámara Femenina. She also took part in Radio Nacional de España’s ‘La otra música’ and has contributed to several periodicals. Her music combines a wide variety of contemporary styles with elements of classical counterpoint, and some pieces are clearly impressionistic.

(selective list)

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.