Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 25 August 2019

Raschenau, Maria Anna [Marianna] vonlocked

  • Janet K. Page


(b Vienna, Austria, bap. Oct 16, 1644 or b. c1650; d Vienna, June 4, 1714). Austrian composer and Chormeisterin. The daughter of an imperial court employee, she received a broad education, including languages, philosophy, theology, history, and music. She excelled in the latter, composing, singing, and playing organ, harpsichord, lute, guitar, violin, viol, and transverse flute. In 1669 she was awarded a court stipend to further her education, and she began to serve the imperial couple (Holy Roman Emperor Leopold and his first wife, Margarita Teresa of Spain) as a musician. Around 1672 she entered the Augustinian convent of St. Jakob auf der Hülben in Vienna, an institution noted for excellent music; in 1710 she was Chormeisterin there.

Raschenau probably composed music for the sacred services, but none is known to survive. Between 1694 and 1710 she composed at least six large-scale musical works for performance on the feast day of St. James the greater, 25 July, when the imperial family customarily visited the convent. These works include oratorios and ...

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.

Early Music
R. Eitner: Biographisch-bibliographisches Quellen-Lexikon
C. Schmidl: Dizionario universale dei musicisti suppl.
Bratislava, Slovenské Národné Múzeum, Hudobné Múzeum
Vienna, Österreichische Nationalbibliothek, Musiksammlung
Studien zur Musikwissenschaft
C. Sartori: I libretti italiani a stampa dalle origini al 1800 (Cuneo, 1990-94)
Venice, Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana