Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 20 August 2019

Senfter, Johannalocked

  • Birgitta Maria Schmid


(b Oppenheim, Nov 27, 1879; d Oppenheim, Aug 11, 1961). German composer, pianist and violinist. At the age of 14 she entered Dr Hoch’s conservatory in Frankfurt, where she studied with Iwan Knorr (composition), Carl Friedberg (piano) and Adolf Rebner (violin). She studied in Leipzig with Max(imilian) Reger and won the Arthur Nikisch prize for composition there in 1910. Senfter’s large output includes nine symphonies, and concertos for piano, violin, viola and cello. She composed in a late-Romantic style and the formal design of the symphonies reveals the influence of Bruckner. Composition dates for most of her works have not been established.

(selective list)

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.