Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 20 August 2019

Snížková(-Škrhová), Jitkalocked

  • Anna Šerých


(b Prague, Sept 14, 1924; d Prague, May 11, 1989). Czech composer and musicologist. Her father, a professor at Charles University, Prague, supervised her education and musical studies. After private music lessons, she attended the Prague Conservatory, 1945–8, studying the piano with Jan Heřman and composition with Alois Hába, and Charles University, where she graduated in musicology, aesthetics and literature. Her career encompassed composing, teaching theory at the Prague Conservatory, and research, notably in medieval music and Czech Renaissance polyphony. Within her vast output, vocal, especially choral, works predominate; her oratorios and cantatas in particular reveal the influence of medieval music. She also produced educational music and many chamber works, several to commission.

(selective list)

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.

Opus musicum
A.I. Cohen: International Encyclopedia of Women Composers