Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 22 October 2019

Ionian Islandslocked

  • Kostas Kardamis


Group of seven islands in the west coast of Greece comprising Corfu (Kerkyra), Paxos, Lefkada, Cephalonia (Kefalonia), Ithaca (Ithaki), Zante (Zakynthos), and Kythira. From the 12th century the islands came gradually under Frankish rule, but their social and cultural formulation was a result of the Venetian administration, which did not begin at the same time for all the islands. After the abolishment of the Venetian Republic (1797), the Ionian Islands were governed by the French Republic (1797–9) and became an independent Greek state under Russian protection (1800–07), a Napoleonic satellite state (1807–14), and a British protectorate (1815–64). In 1864 they were annexed to the Greek Kingdom.

A 1549 contract regarding teaching of the trumpet is the earliest evidence of musical instruction in the Ionian Islands in modern times. The beginning of opera performances in 1733 in Corfu and their uninterrupted production between ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.