Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 15 October 2019

Motsenigos, Spyroslocked

  • Katy Romanou


(b Corfu, Greece, May 2, 1911; d Athens, Greece, Jan 17, 1970). Greek music historian, trumpeter, and teacher. He was taught music at an early age in Corfu’s Philharmonic Society. In 1928 he moved to Athens, and studied the trumpet at the Odeion Athinon (‘Athens Conservatory’). He then became a teacher of that instrument at the Ellinikon Odeion (‘Greek Conservatory’) in Athens, and joined the State Orchestra of Athens and the orchestra of the National Lyric Stage.

In 1958 he published his Neoelliniki mousiki: Symvoli eis tin istorian tis (‘Neo-Hellenic music: contribution to its history’). The book, detailed and richly documented, remains today the most comprehensive study on music in the Ionian Islands in the 19th century and early 20th (but not confined to that location). In 1999 Stelios Tzermpinos published an index of names in Neoelliniki mousiki, making it easier to use. However, the book is out of print and difficult to find. It is also difficult to access the ‘Motsenigeio istoriko archeio neoellinikis mousikis’ (‘Motsenigian historic archive of neo-Hellenic music’), the personal library and rich archive of sources collected by Motsenigos over 25 years, and donated by his wife, Litsa Papa, at his death, to the National Library of Athens. Among its resources are 1300 scores – some extremely rare – of works by 124 Greek composers of the 19th century and the first half of the 20th....

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.