Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 11 December 2019

McBeth, W(illiam) Francislocked

  • Raoul F. Camus


(b Ropesville, nr Lubbock, TX, March 9, 1933; d Arkadelphia, AR, Jan 6, 2012). American composer, conductor, and music educator. He attended Hardin-Simmons University (BM 1954, DMus 1971), the University of Texas (MM 1957), and the Eastman School, and studied with Howard Hanson, Kent Kennan, Clifton Williams, and Bernard Rogers. In 1957 he joined the faculty of Ouachita University in Arkadelphia, Arkansas, as resident composer and chairman of the theory composition department. Until 1973 he was conductor of the Arkansas SO in Little Rock, and has appeared as a guest conductor and lecturer in the United States, Canada, Europe, Australia, and Japan. In addition to many honors, commissions, and awards, his Third Symphony won the Howard Hanson Prize at the Eastman School of Music in 1963, and he received Phi Mu Alpha’s “American Man of Music Award” in 1988. He was at one time president of the American Bandmasters Association, and was appointed Composer Laureate of the State of Arkansas in ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.