Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 20 November 2019


  • Ryan Moore


Punk band. Fugazi was formed by Ian MacKaye (b Washington, DC, April 16, 1962) with other musicians in the Washington DC scene following the breakup of the band Minor Threat. Bringing in guitarist/vocalist Guy Picciotto and drummer Brendan Canty from the group Rites of Spring, along with bassist Joe Lally, Fugazi was musically innovative in mixing hardcore punk and MacKaye’s bellowing vocals with funk and reggae rhythms punctuated by irregular starts and stops. Through Dischord Records, the label co-founded by MacKaye in 1980, Fugazi’s first two EPs were combined in a compilation album titled 13 Songs in 1989, and their debut LP Repeater was released the following year. Fugazi added new dimensions to punk’s DIY ethic during their tours by only playing venues that admitted people of all ages and trying to set the maximum admission at $5. Fugazi’s music veered in increasingly experimental directions over the course of the 1990s until the release of their final album in ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.