Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 18 November 2019

Bresnick, Martin locked

  • Edward Harsh
  • , revised by Christina Taylor Gibson


(b New York, NY, Nov 13, 1946). American composer. He studied at the University of Hartford, the Vienna Music Academy (1969–70), and Stanford University (DMA 1972). His principal teachers included Gottfried von Einem, Friedrich Cerha, György Ligeti, and John M(acLeod) Chowning. After serving on the faculties of the San Francisco Conservatory (1971–2) and Stanford (1972–5), he began a long and fruitful appointment as professor of composition at Yale University (1976). His many honors and awards include the Prix de Rome (1975), three NEA awards (1975, 1979, 1980), a MacDowell Colony Fellowship (1977), the Premio Ancona (1980), Lincoln Center’s Stoeger Prize for Chamber Music (1996), the Charles Ives Living Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters (1998), composer-in-residence, American Academy in Rome (1999), the ASCAP Foundation’s Aaron Copland Prize for teaching (...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.