Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 15 December 2019

Columbia String Quartetlocked

  • Sorab Modi
  • , revised by Bonnie Elizabeth Fleming


String quartet founded in 1977 and disbanded in 1995. It was founded as the Schoenberg String Quartet but changed its name to Columbia String Quartet the following year. The original members were Benjamin Hudson (b Decatur, IL, 14 June 1950), first violin; Carol Zeavin (b San Bernardino, CA, 2 May 1948), second violin; Janet Lyman Hill (d 27 June 2002), viola; and André Emelianoff (b New York, NY, 18 March 1942), cello. The original group stopped performing in 1981, but the ensemble reformed in 1983 with Sarah Clarke (b Washington, DC, 18 March 1953) replacing Hill and Eric Bartlett (b Brattleboro, VT, 30 April 1957) replacing Emelianoff.

Throughout the history of the ensemble, its performances were marked by instrumental virtuosity and stylistic refinement in both contemporary music and the standard repertory. They premiered many works, including Charles Wuorinen’s ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.