Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 22 October 2019

Foss [Fuchs], Lukas locked

  • Gilbert Chase
  • , revised by David Wright
  •  and Lars Helgert


(b Berlin, Germany, Aug 15, 1922; d New York, NY, Feb 1, 2009). American composer, conductor, and pianist. He began studies in piano and theory in Berlin with Julius Goldstein. From 1933 to 1937 he was in Paris, where he studied piano with Lazare Lévy, composition with Noël Gallon, orchestration with Felix Wolfes, and flute with Louis Moyse. Having moved to the United States with his family in 1937, he continued his studies at the Curtis Institute, where his teachers included Isabelle Vengerova (piano), Rosario Scalero and randall Thompson (composition), and Fritz Reiner (conducting). He also studied conducting with Serge Koussevitzky during summers at the Berkshire Music Center (1939–43) and composition with Paul Hindemith as a special student at Yale University (1939–40).

Precociously gifted, Foss began to compose at the age of seven, and at 22 he won wide acclaim for the secular cantata ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.