Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 18 January 2020

No Doubtlocked

  • Colette Simonot


Rock band. It formed in Anaheim, California, in 1986. Principal members are Gwen Stefani, vocals (b Fullerton, CA, 3 Oct 1969); Eric Stefani, keyboards (b Fullerton, CA 17 June 1967); Tom Dumont, guitar (b Los Angeles, CA, 11 Jan 1968); Tony Kanal, bass (b London, England, 27 Aug 1970); Adrian Young, drums (b Long Beach, CA, 26 Aug 1969). John Spence (1969–87) and Eric Stefani formed the band, with Stefani’s sister Gwen singing backup vocals. Tony Kanal joined after attending an early performance. After shifts in personnel following Spence’s death in 1987, Gwen Stefani took over lead vocals, and Kanal, Tom Dumont, Adrian Young, and Eric Stefani (who left in 1994) formed the core of the group. Interscope Records signed No Doubt in 1991, and they achieved commercial success with 1995’s Tragic Kingdom, which featured an eclectic mix of ska, new wave, pop, punk, and rock. Featuring the single, “Don’t Speak,” this album earned several Grammy nominations. While none of No Doubt’s subsequent albums has matched ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.