Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 30 May 2020

Summit Brasslocked

  • Eric Lynn Harris


Orchestral brass ensemble. Founded in 1985 by members of the St. Louis Brass Quintet, the original personnel included David Hickman, Allan Dean, Raymond Mase, and Anthony Plog (trumpet); Larry Strieby, Fred Rizner, Gail Williams, and Thomas Bacon (horn); Joseph Alessi, Ralph Sauer, Mark Lawrence, and Melvyn Jernigan (trombone); Daniel Perantoni and Eugene Pokorny (tuba); and Carl Topilow, conductor. The roster remained constant for the group’s first 17 years and has undergone some changes in the last decade. The ensemble’s first recording, Episodes (ProArte, 1986), featured trumpet soloist Doc Severinsen. Their other eight recordings have been produced through the ensemble’s own Summit label. The ensemble has toured extensively throughout the United States and visited Europe in 1998. Each summer the ensemble serves as the host of the Rafael Méndez Brass Institute, a young artists workshop designed as a career entry program for young professionals. Over 200 students annually participate in the institute with tuition provided by the Méndez Estate. Summit Brass has commissioned over 100 works by composers, including John Cheetham, David Sampson, Eric Ewazen, Manny Albam, Henri Lazarof, and Anthony Plog. The group performs a diverse repertoire, ranging from Renaissance works to 21st-century compositions....

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.