Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 12 August 2020

Arnesen, Dag (Syver )locked

  • Johs Bergh


(Syver )

(b Bergen, Norway, March 3, 1950). Norwegian pianist, composer, and arranger. He established himself as a talented player in local groups in the early 1970s. While leading his own group Ny Bris (1980–83) he also played in a Scandinavian jazz ensemble led by Carla Bley (1980) and with Thorgeir Stubø (1980–82). Having moved to Oslo in 1981, he worked with Knut Riisnaes (1981–5), led his own trio (from 1983), and toured Norway with Joe Henderson (1988). From 1988 he has lived partly in Bergen, partly in Oslo, leading his own groups in both cities and frequently accompanying visiting foreign soloists. He was the festival composer at Vossajazz (1987) and subsequently won national awards for a composition inspired by Edvard Grieg, Rusler rundt 152 (“Moving around 152” – 152 being a house number where Grieg once lived). An excellent soloist in a modern style inspired by the early playing of Keith Jarrett, Arnesen is also a creative composer, both in small- and large-group formats....

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.