Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 19 November 2019

Takis [Vassilakis, Panayiotis]locked

  • Hugh Davies


[Vassilakis, Panayiotis]

(b Athens, Greece, Oct 29, 1925). Greek sculptor. He has incorporated sound elements in much of his work since 1963, when he collaborated with the composer Earle Brown in ‘Sound of the Void’, in which electromagnets repeatedly cause a needle to strike a string. Takis left Greece for Paris in 1954 and has subsequently divided his time among Paris, Athens, London, New York, and many other cities. Much of his work after the mid-1950s is concerned with movement, usually within a magnetic or electromagnetic field; of this type are the ‘pendules magnètiques’ from 1964 to 1965 and the ‘signals multiples’ constructed in 1966 in which flashing lights are mounted on the tops of tall swaying steel rods. His pieces often incorporate recycled electrical apparatus and sometimes include flashing blue mercury vapour lamps. The non-magnetic series ‘Signals’ (1954 to the late 1960s), in which piano strings are struck together by the wind, gave its name to an art gallery and a magazine in London in the 1960s....

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.