Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Oxford Music Online. © Oxford University Press, 2019. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Oxford Music Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

Quiet Flows the Don [Tikhiy Don (‘The Quiet Don’)]locked

  • Laurel Fay


Opera in four acts by Ivan Ivanovich Dzerzhinsky to a libretto by Leonid Ivanovich Dzerzhinsky on motifs from Mikhail Alexandrovich Sholokhov’s novel; Leningrad, Malïy Opera Theatre, 22 October 1935.

Dzerzhinsky based his first opera on books 1 and 2 of Mikhail Sholokhov’s as yet incomplete novel ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.