Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 19 January 2020

Amour, fléchy par la constance, L’ (‘Love Moved by Constancy’)locked

  • Barbara Coeyman


(‘Love Moved by Constancy’)

Pastorale in nine scenes by Michel-Richard de Lalande; Fontainebleau, autumn 1697.

An occasional piece for the French court, L’amour, fléchy par la constance represents the reduced scope of Lalande’s middle-period stage compositions following the War of the League of Augsburg. The work played twice at Fontainebleau in autumn 1697 as a concert, and may have been repeated with dancing at Versailles in December for the wedding of the Duc and Duchesse de Bourgogne. The theme is one of disrupted and then reconciled love among shepherds and the setting is a forest near a temple to Amour; the librettist is unknown. Tircis (haute-contre) with Philis (soprano) and Climene (soprano) with Daphnis (baritone) lament love’s travails, while the chorus affirms its pleasures. The nine scenes display organic unity: for example, solo and ensemble singing is well balanced by choral music and the extended chorus and instrumental passacaille in Scene 5 form the centrepiece of the composition. Climene’s ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.