Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Oxford Music Online. © Oxford University Press, 2019. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Oxford Music Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

Gambler, The [Igrok; Le joueur]locked

  • Richard Taruskin


Opera in four acts, op.24, by Sergey Prokofiev to his own libretto after the novella (1866) by Fyodor Mikhaylovich Dostoyevsky ; Brussels, Théâtre Royal de la Monnaie, 29 April 1929.

Prokofiev’s Gambler was an early opera to be based on a work by Dostoyevsky, whose novels were in various scenic adaptations enjoying a vogue on the Russian stage at the time of its writing (e.g. ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.