Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 15 September 2019

Szeghy [Szeghyová], Irislocked

  • Yvetta Lábska-Kajanová


(b Prešov, March 5, 1956). Slovak composer. She studied composition with Podprocký, and the piano at the Košice Conservatory (1971–6), before continuing under Očenáš at the Bratislava Academy of Music and Dramatic Art (until 1981); she returned to the Academy in 1986 as a postgraduate research student in composition. During the 1990s she was awarded placements at electronic studios in Stuttgart and Amsterdam and at the University of California at San Diego. In 1995 she was composer-in-residence at the Hamburg State Opera. Her works have been performed at the UNESCO International Rostrum, at a festival of the ISCM in Warsaw and at Darmstadt summer courses. At the beginning of her career Szeghy concentrated primarily on sonority, as demonstrated by Jarná sonáta (‘Spring Sonata’) for organ, while in later works the emphasis shifted towards elaborate structures, her style becoming more lyrical and poetic, as in the String Quartet ‘Musica dolorosa’ (...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.