Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 23 January 2020

Berlinski, Hermannlocked

  • Vernon Gotwals
  • , revised by Judi Caldwell


(b Leipzig, Germany, Aug 18, 1910; d Washington, DC, Sept 27, 2001). American organist and composer, born in Germany. He studied piano and composition at the State Conservatory of Leipzig and attended the Ecole Normale de Musique in Paris, where he was a pupil of Cortot and Boulanger. He immigrated to the USA in 1941. At the Seminary College of Jewish Music in New York he studied organ and musicology with Joseph Yasser and was awarded the PhD. Berlinski was organist at the Temple Emanu-El in New York (1954–63) and minister of music at the Washington (DC) Hebrew Congregation (1963–77). He was a liturgical musician and composer, and his music contains historical Jewish materials. His principal works for the organ include twelve Organ Sinfonias (1954–2000), The Burning Bush (1957) and The Glass Bead Game (1974). His choral and chamber works include ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.

American Composers Alliance Bulletin