Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 12 July 2020

Hanuš, Janlocked

  • Harald Müller


(b Prague, May 2, 1915; d Prague, July 30, 2004). Czech composer. He studied composition with Otakar Jeremiáš (1932–40) and at the Prague Conservatory (1940), where he also studied conducting with Pavel Dědeček. After further studies at a business school, he joined the music publishers F.A. Urbánek & Sons and in 1963 became director of the publishers Panton, a post he held until 1970. Hanuš played an important role in the commissions overseeing the complete editions of Dvořák, Fibich and Janáček. In 1960 he received the Gottwald State Prize for his ballets Otello and Sůl nad zlato (‘Salt More Precious than Gold’), and in 1965 and 1988 respectively he was created Outstanding Artist and National Artist; he relinquished all these awards, however, in 1989 in protest at the politically motivated prosecution of students. In 1985 he was appointed honorary vice-president of the International Society of A. Dvořak in Great Britain, and after ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.

The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments
Hudební rozhledy
Ceskoslovensky hudební slovník