Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 13 October 2019

Sønstevold, Gunnar (Johannes)locked

  • Arvid O. Vollsnes



(b Elverum, Nov 26, 1912; d Oslo, Oct 1991). Norwegian composer and administrator. He studied music theory and composition with Karl Andersen in Oslo. During the 1930s he was pianist in Norway's most famous jazz band, Funny Boys, but he wounded his hand when fleeing to Sweden during World War II. As a refugee in Stockholm he joined Hilding Rosenberg's circle. Sønstevold returned to Norway in 1945 with his wife, Maj Sønstevold, and wrote much music for the growing film industry there, notably for the war films Englandsfarere (‘A Boat for England’) and Kampen om tungtvannet (‘Operation Swallow’). In 1949 he began a 20-year collaboration with the director Arne Skouen, and in 1955 he received an award from the Norwegian Film Critics' Guild for his music to Skouen's Det brenner i natt (‘Tonight it Will Burn’). The music of these scores often contrasts with the action, and it shows an inventive use of percussion. Sønstevold spent most of the period ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.