Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 13 November 2019

Szervánszky, Endrelocked

  • F. András Wilheim


(b Budatétény, Jan 1, 1911; d Budapest, June 25, 1977). Hungarian composer and teacher. He studied the clarinet at the Budapest Academy of Music (1922–7) and then played in various orchestras before returning to the academy for composition studies with Siklós (1931–6). Until 1941 he worked as an orchestrator for Hungarian Radio and as a theory teacher in music schools. He then taught at the secondary music school in Budapest (1941–8) and was in 1948 appointed professor of composition at the Budapest Academy.

Szervánszky first came to public attention with the First String Quartet (1936–8), but he did not follow up this achievement with anything of similar importance until after World War II, when he produced a group of works influenced by Kodály and Bartók. But the works of this period (c1945–53) are not merely imitative: they include some of the best examples of Hungarian music of the time, such as the Clarinet Serenade (...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.