Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 13 November 2019

Vorlová, Sláva [Johnová, Miroslava]locked

  • Anna Šerých


[Johnová, Miroslava]

(b Náchod, March 15, 1894; d Prague, Aug 24, 1973). Czech composer. She studied singing at the Vienna Conservatory and took private lessons with Vítězslav Novák (composition) and Václav Stěpán (piano). She passed the state examinations in 1918, but discontinued composing until 1932; the following year she wrote her op.1 string quartet, which was given its première by the Ondříček Quartet. Its success encouraged her to continue her studies with František Maxian (piano) and Jaroslav Řídký (composition). After World War II she graduated from Řídký’s class at the Prague Conservatory (1948) with Symphony JM op.18, dedicated to Jan Masaryk. Some works written during the war, such as the cantata Maličká země (‘Little Country’), contributed to the Czech war resistance; at the same time her chamber works gained recognition in Europe.

To avoid the frustration imposed by doctrinal mass culture after the communist regime took power in the 1950s, she turned to folksongs and historical themes in her works, as in the operas ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.

Ceskoslovensky hudební slovník
Hudební rozhledy
Opus musicum