Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 12 July 2020

Camerloher [Camerlochner, Cammerlocher], Joseph Anton [Josephus Antonius]locked

  • Suzanne Forsberg


[Josephus Antonius]

(b Murnau, July 4, 1710; d Munich, June 17, 1743). German composer. The eldest of eight children of Joannis and Maria Anna Camerloher, he attended the Ritterakademie in Ettal and was trained as a violinist. Between 1734 and 1741 he wrote nine Fastenmeditationen (now lost) for the Congregatio Latina BV Mariae in Munich. He was Cammer-compositeur (chamber composer) at the Munich court from 1739 until his death, possibly after two years as Cammermusicus; the libretto of his opera La clemenza di Tito refers to him as Concert-Meister.

Much of Camerloher’s music was formerly attributed to his brother Placidus. His known surviving works include 43 symphonies, 20 trio sonatas, one flute sonata (Duo), eight sacred works and one opera. Of the instrumental works only 11 symphonies (now in A-Gd; some also in the published sets) bear his full name, but documentary and stylistic evidence indicate that other works bearing only his surname are his too. The four-movement trio sonatas (for two violins and continuo), and sacred works are firmly grounded in the Baroque; the symphonies, mostly in three movements and scored for strings, look forward to the Classical era with their harmonic schemes and their differentiation of thematic material. Camerloher was admired for his two ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.

Graz, Diözesanarchiv